30 July-Carlow win Leinster Championship

There was great excitement in Carlow in the Summer of 1944. Thousands travelled to Athy to watch the Carlow County GAA team take on Dublin in the Leinster Final. The Carlow team (J. Quinlan, J. Lawler, J.Archbold, P. Farrell, P. Whelan, B. O’Rourke, E. Joyce, L. Kelly, J. Morris, J. Moore, M. Byrne, W. Hosey, P. Sullivan. J. Doyle, J. Rea) made history by defeating Dublin 2-06 to 1-06 to win their one and only senior title and become Leinster Champions in 1944 On This Day

Athy photo

Photo by Irish Typepad

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *