St Clare’s Church in Graiguecullen, Carlow has a unique history. It was commissioned by Colonel Bruen of Oak Park and was built as St Anne’s Church of Ireland on the Athy Road on the East bank of the river Barrow in 1852. However due to falling congregation the church was sold for a nominal sum to the Parish Priest of Graiguecullen in 1926. The church was then dismantled and re-erected in Graiguecullen on the West bank of the river Barrow. Carlow engineering firm Thomas Thompson and Sons carried out the works and the building was completed in 1929. The new Church was opened and dedicated by Most Rev Dr Cullen Bishop of Kildare and Lerighlin in the year 1929 On This Day.
Photo by Irish Typepad