20 March-Eurovision Song Contest

The Eurovision Song Contest is an annual television song competition run by the European Broadcasting Union. The contest has been held each year since 1956. It is generally hosted the next year by the winning country. The Contest has audience figures in the hundreds of millions. It is now one of the longest running television programmes in the world.

The Eurovision Song Contest was first held on May 24th 1956 in Lugano, Switzerland. Marcel Bezencon, a native of Switzerland and member of the European Broadcasting Union, conceived the idea of the Eurovision Song Contest. In the inaugural event seven countries (Netherlands, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, Belgium and Switzerland) participated. The contest was won by Switzerland.

Nine years after the contest began Ireland participated for the first time. Since then the Ireland has made 48 appearances in total. With seven wins Ireland is the most successful country in the contest to date. Dana gave Ireland its first victory in 1970, performing “All Kinds of Everything”. Ireland came first with Johhny Logan, 1980 (What’s Another Year?); Johnny Logan, 1987 (Hold Me Now); Linda Martin, 1992 (Why Me?); Niamh Kavanagh 1993 (In Your Eyes); 1994 Paul Harrington & Charlie McGettigan (Rock ‘n’ Roll Kids) and 1996 Eimear Quinn (The Voice)

Winning the Eurovision Song Contest guarantees a boost in publicity for the performer and enhances their career prospects. Former winners such as ABBA, Céline Dion, Julio Iglesias and Bucks Fizz have gone on to have successful careers. The winner in 2016 was Jamala from Ukraine with the song ‘1944’. As a result the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 was held in Kiev, Ukraine.

Ireland participated in the Eurovision Song Contest for the first time when it was held in Naples, Italy in the year 1965 On This Day.

Eurovision song contest 2015



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *