21 September-Malta

The Republic of Malta is located in the Mediterranean Sea about 80km south of Italy. The country, which is an archipelago of six islands and islets, covers almost 320km2 and has a population of around 450,000. It is one of the most densely populated countries in the world. Valletta is the capital city of Malta.

From pre-historic times Malta has been occupied by various powers. These included the Phoenicians, Carthaginians, Greeks, Romans, Arabs, Spanish, French and British. Malta became part of the British Empire in 1814 under the treaty of Paris and remained under British rule until 1964. It became a Republic on December 13th 1974. Today Malta has an advanced economy and is a member of the European Union. It is a major tourist destination.

Malta gained independence from the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland in the year 1964 On This Day.

Malta: Valetta by Ben124. on 2013-09-23 17:15:51

Alleway; Mdina, Malta by foxypar4 on 2008-11-25 10:22:56

Malta: Sliema sunrise by Ben124. on 2013-09-22 06:03:02

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *