30 July-Carlow win Leinster Championship

There was great excitement in Carlow in the Summer of 1944. Thousands travelled to Athy to watch the Carlow County GAA team take on Dublin in the Leinster Final. The Carlow team (J. Quinlan, J. Lawler, J.Archbold, P. Farrell, P. Whelan, B. O’Rourke, E. Joyce, L. Kelly, J. Morris, J. Moore, M. Byrne, W. Hosey, P. Sullivan. J. Doyle, J. Rea) made history by defeating Dublin 2-06 to 1-06 to win their one and only senior title and become Leinster Champions in 1944 On This Day

Athy photo

Photo by Irish Typepad

29 July-Dr Robert Cane

Dr Robert Cane was born in Kilkenny in 1807. He studied medicine in Dublin and was MD of the University of Glasgow. He returned to practice in his native city and became a member of the Repeal Association and the Irish Confederation. He founded the Celtic Union in 1853 and was twice elected Lord Mayor of Kilkenny. He was arrested following the rising of 1848 On This Day

Kilkenny photo

Photo by National Library of Ireland on The Commons